Objects you create—such as reports, procedures, or monitor sets—are initially saved in a folder with your user name underneath a Private cabinet. This means only you, the creator of the objects in that folder, can view those objects, edit them, run them, delete them or rename them.
To share a private object with others you first have to drag and drop it into a folder underneath the Shared cabinet.
Note: A master role user can check the Show shared and private folder contents from all users checkbox in System > Preferences to see all shared and private folders. For Private folders only, checking this box provides the master role user with all access rights, equivalent to an owner.
The following Share Folder guidelines apply to folders underneath a Shared cabinet:
Users are always the one and only owner of their Private folders. Shared folders are also owned and are only owned by one user at a time. Ownership of a shared folder provides "full rights" to a folder's objects, regardless of the share rights assigned to that user. When you first create a shared folder, either as a master role user or a non-master role user, you are the owner of that shared folder.
Master role users have an additional right, called Take Ownership, that allows them to take ownership of any Shared folder that is visible in the folder tree.
Note: A master role user can check the Show shared and private folder contents from all users in System > Preferences to see all shared and private folders. For Private folders only, checking this box provides the master role user with all access rights, equivalent to an owner.
As a master role user, if the button displays when you select a Shared folder, that means you're not the owner of that folder. If a folder you don't own has been shared with you, then several other buttons may display alongside the button. Until you click the button you're restricted to the actions determined by the share rights you've been assigned.
Clicking the button makes you the one and only owner of that shared folder. Taking ownership displays an orange dot on the folder , indicating ownership. Ownership overrides your assigned shared rights and gives you complete access to:
Typically the reason you take ownership of a shared object is to maintain its contents because the original owner can't do so. For example, the owner of a shared object may have left the company and no longer be available. In most cases, master role users can work within the share rights they've been assigned by other VSA users.
Note: Deleting a VSA user from the system assigns ownership of all objects belonging to that VSA user to the VSA user performing the delete.